top of page

Falling Back In Love - Beauty Base Favorites...

I thought I would experiment with doing beauty related posts on the blog (NOT sponsored). I'm currently experimenting with building a new base of favorites - some are old trusted compantions and some are new additions. I seem to want to change up my routine at every change of seasons, wanting to reinvent - both wardrobe-wise and beauty-wise, and I almost always ending up buying makeup based on packaging (pretty) than actual needs. This season has been no exception. I've recently fallen back in love with wardrobe-items from my teenage-years and the same has magically happen with my beauty wardrobe. The immidiately aesthetically appealing quality of some items that got me in my youth, has increasingly been getting their magic powers back. The visual style of brands like Guerlain, whose mèteorites I adored as a teen, has been growing on me. Again.

I started to use my Perles des Mèteorites again (Perles du Paradis) and also my Cruel Gardenia limited edition illuminating powder. I've finally bought the pressed version of the Mèteorites, that travels more easily and also added a new base product. The Mèteorites Baby Glow foundation, which is more of a BB-cream. I usually just wear Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue (in Opal), thatis equally shear and provides a pretty glow. This one is different. It's more pink (which does suit my ridiculously fair pink-ish skin tone), and has that violet scent that all Guerlain products have. I personally love it. It seems to be a tad more velvety than other 'glow'-providers base-wise, but it definitely evens out the skintone most beautifully. I wear the lightest color (02 Clair), and it looked way to dark at when I first swatched it, but because of the shearness it ended up being a good match.I find myself quite impressed. Make sure to do a proper moisture-prep with this as it will have a tendency to cling to dry patches. But hello, look at that packaging. Anything blush pink will get my attention.

Speaking of blush, another blast from the past has re-got my attention. I feel like Stila was the queen of the 2000s (where I spent my early teens), and surprisingly enough, I've returned. Their convertible color (a staple of anyone back then) has dug itself right back into my makeup collection. Packaging is beyond pretty. Mirror is good, which is a huge plus as I love using compacts when applying lipstick, and also check that eveerything else is in order. I use it as a blush and never on the lips a s suggested. Although, a secret tip is using it as an eyeshadow. It is the most rosy corally cream eyeshadow, and the texture is actually quite good. It blends beautifully with BB-cream/foundation when worn as a blush. I have the color Petunia which is best suited to my skin tone. If I were to try it in any other color I might go for the Lillium (a very light rosy pink) or Peach Blossom.

The final product which I bought yesterday (!) is the pressed version of the Mèteorites. I needed a finishing powder that would provide a subtle glowon high-points - not strobing effect which I feel Becca does. I will try the Guerlain Baby Glow Touch. in Rosy Glow (ordered today), a highlighter stick with a rosy sheen to it instead of the opalescent. I'm curious! Have set up camp outside my door to wait for the mailman... But back to the powder, I tried it last night for a birthday party and definitely loved it. It has a slight color correcting effect with the green and lilac and also provides a gorgeous champagny slightly shimmery glow. But we wont kidourself with saying the packaging and overall fantasy of Guerlain does not come in play with buying their products. For a vintage lover like me, the eternally glamourus visual expression is not exactly irrelevant for my buying choices. I think other products might be just as Holy Grail-like or equally efficient or doing a better job, but in the end - beauty is fantasy and illusion and if the packaging can add to that, I'd chose the pretty packaging anytime...

Please let me knownon my instagram if you'd like me to do more beauty related post It's definitely a huge passion of mine, and I think it's a vital part of my aesthetic and visual expression. It all ties together.

RECENT POST
bottom of page