top of page

Cherry Blossoms in Paris and Petite Cherie Dress

The first thing we saw when arriving at our hotel was a giant blossoming cherry blossom tree outside our window. The ultimate manifestation of spring and my favorite color scheme. My main excuse for taking a more or less spontaneous trip to Paris was my upcoming birthday which lent itself perfectly to cake and champagne at La Durèe.

We walked from our hotel in Montmartre to LaDurèe and found cherry blossoms on our way...

We went to the same La Durèe the last time we were in Paris in September, it's touristy, but worth it. I have checked out all the locations in advance and I still think the Champs Èlysees one looks the prettiest... but

next time I'll make sure to try another.

I chose my favorite, Ispahan - rose macarons, raspeberries, rose cream and lichi. And pink champagne (of course).

This is me looking amourously at my seriouslypretty cake. I was fully dressed in pink for the occasion. A 1940s (probably engagement) light rose pink set with heart pocket dress coat and dress. The 1930s burgundy bow brooch was a birthday gift from my traveling companions @majakudahl and @zebuhcow.

The evening was spent at dèco restaurant Le Grand Colbert (after recommendations from friends) where we gave into yet more champagne. I wore a dress I haven't worn for years. It is absolutely tiny - it was tiny when I bought it and felt even smaller while not used to wearing skin tight dresses anymore.It's early 1960s, probably a teen prom dress in dusty blue with confetti print. I wore it with my star headband and looked like a prom queen. It reminds me so much of this advert for Petite Cherie (by Annick Goutal) which also was my Paris perfume for the occasion. At the time I bought it, the cutesy 1960s Parisian style was popular (like the 30s/40s has become now) in the main stream. Everyone wore ballerina flats and poofy dresses with modified beehives and bangs like Zooey Deschanel reading blogs like WishWIshWish and Cherry Blossom Girl. I was about 19 and it suited me perfectly.


RECENT POST
bottom of page