top of page

Some of My Favorite Vintage Outfits...

I wanted to share with you some of my favorite vintage outfits I've put together during the past year. The one thing I love the most about my wardrobe, is that everything is in the same aesthetics, are thought as a part of a whole, and easy to match. I will walk you through some of my favorite outfits from 2017 until now. Starting with...

I celebrated my birthday in april last year with a fairytale theme. I chose a fairy-like Thumbelina, wearing a self made flower wreath, my pointe shoes (Bloch) and the most beautiful vintage ballet costume. It was the original Juliet costume (Romeo & Juliet) at The Royal Danish Ballet. It's so perfect in dusty pink velvet and whisper grey silk chiffon. I never get to wear it, both because its fragile and also because it's not the most wearable garment. It needs a slip to look like a dress.

I attached a piece of chiffon and made the dusty blue 1930s slip underneath be part of the outfit.

Another 2017 favorite included one of my absolute favorite dresses. A petal pink late 1930s dress with braided bodide. I also have a twin of this dress in burgundy and creme. It is so dreamy and also get a lot of attention when worn. It has the best of fairytale-like and late 1930s fashion elements combined in one.

When we went to London for The Chap Olympiad, I wore this for a day of shopping. It was one of the warmest days of the year. I suspect this has been long at some point, and probably a wedding dress, but I just love the soutache details, the shape and the belt. It's late 1930s or early very early 1940s.

The same dress used for another occasion, when I temporarily dyed my hair pink with a hair chalk and played Marie Antoinette a la Coppola infused with 30s/40s.

Another favorite! Definitely a summer dress, but I've worn it a couple of times this winter, just because it's so pretty. Late 1930s lace and rayon worn with a 1930s flower brooch and a silk crepe belt borrowed from another dress.

I've probably overworn this dress set on my instagram account, but it's my most favorite piece! It's from the late 1930s, originally worn to a wedding back then. I wear the jacket with so many dresses in my wardrobe... and of course slacks!

For a guided tour through Copenhagen from a historical perspective, I wore the jacket from the previous dress set with another favorite - the twin dress to the petal pink braided bodice dress. I Love how the different braided textures go together.

The dress from the late 30s dress set worn with a short sleeved burgundy jacket from another dress set. I put this outfit together because of the color combination of the burgundy and dusty pink.

My most Parisian outfit from when we went to Paris last autumn. I always pack with a slightly different personae in mind when I'm travelling. As you can see, that was obviously the case with my parisian packing.. 1940s orginal nurses cape, pearl grey beret,1940s sunglasses and my incredibly Marie Antoinette-like late 1930s dress.This dress is widely copied, but this is the orginial vintage item from which copies have been made by taking photos from my instagram account. I felt like it belonged to Paris.. I'm going back to celebrate my birthday in April, already started packing with my ParisPersonae on!

The absolutely warmest day in Copenhagen in July was spent by the canal, eating ice cream in my dusky blue 1940s dress. I madet this hairstyle for. the first time- it's just regular ribbon, but I love it...!

Same hairstyle, different outfit. I was inspired by early 1900s ballet hairstyles with a classical grecian influence. Should probably wear it more. This outfit was one of my absolute favorites in 2017 - 1940s wool slacks, my shooting star chatelaine brooch (bought at an antique fair in Paris) and 1940s soft blush silk blouse.

I want to wear this heart coat all the time. It's from a 1940s dress set in the most beautiful shade of peachy rose.It has. a matching dress, but here I'm wearing it with the white soutache dress from further above and my chatelaine shooting star brooch. I wore this for the winter vintage fair, and I have to say I'm slightly tempted to wear it for the next vintage fair - the spring edition in April. And also want to pack it for Paris.

I hope you enjoyed a little trip through some of my favorite outfits! I definitely have a lot more. But that will be a following post. Along with a post from Paris...!


RECENT POST
bottom of page